IDAPA 39 — IDAHO TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT
Division of Motor Vehicles

39.02.26 — Rules Governing Temporary Vehicle Clearance for Carriers

Who does thisrule apply to?
An owner or company who is qualified for commercial registration in Idaho.

e  Commercia Motor Vehicle Owners; and
e Commercid Carriers

What is the purpose of thisrule?

Rule establishes the ability for carriers and owners to obtain an immediate “temporary vehicle
clearance” for immediate operation on ldaho roads valid for a maximum of 45 days. This allows
the customer or carrier time to apply for title and pay applicable registration fees to obtain
registration and plates. The customer can self-issue the temporary vehicle clearance online or at
any Port-of-Entry for the fee set by rule.

What isthelegal authority for the agency to promulgatethisrule?
This rule implements the following statutes passed by the Idaho Legislature:

Motor Vehicles -

General:

e 49-201, Idaho Code — Duties of Board

» 49-202, Idaho Code — Duties of Department

Vehicle Titles:

* 49-501, Idaho Code — Titling Requirements — Exemptions

Who do | contact for moreinformation on thisrule?

|daho Transportation Department
Monday — Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
PO. Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

3311 West State Street

Phone: (208) 334-8000

itd.idaho.gov
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https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH2/SECT49-201/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH2/SECT49-202/
https://itd.idaho.gov/
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH5/SECT49-501/
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39.02.26 — RULES GOVERNING TEMPORARY VEHICLE CLEARANCE FOR CARRIERS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

Thisrule is adopted under the authority of Sections 49-201, 49-202, and 49-501, Idaho Code. (3-21-22)
001. SCOPE.

Thisrule provides for temporary vehicle clearance (TV C) proceduresin Idaho, self issued by carriers or issued by the
Department. (3-21-22)

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)
010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Carrier. The person or company who is qualified for registration in Idaho, and whaose vehicles are
issued Temporary Vehicle Clearances. (3-21-22)

02. Temporary Vehicle Clearance (TVC). Temporary clearance issued for immediate operation of a
vehicle pending receipt of credentials. (3-21-22)

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. ADMINISTRATION.

Temporary Vehicle Clearances, valid for a maximum of forty-five (45) days or to the registration year expiration date,
may beissued to a carrier whose account isin good standing. (3-21-22)
101. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. ISSUANCE OF TVC.

01. Temporary Vehicle Clearances. Carriers may request temporary vehicle clearances online, from
the department or an Idaho port of entry. Fees are payable when the clearance isissued. (3-21-22)

201. ISSUANCE OF VEHICLE REGISTRATION (CAB CARD) AND LICENSE PLATE(S).

01. I ssuance of Vehicle Registration & License Plate(s). The vehicle registration and license plate(s)
may be issued when: (3-21-22)

a. The online application is received by the Department, all applicable fees are paid and all licensing
requirements are met. (3-21-22)

02. Permanent Identification. When al criteria are met, a registration, license plate and sticker (if
applicable) will be issued. (3-21-22)

202. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. COST AND PAYMENT.

The fee for temporary vehicle clearances issued by the Department is eighteen dollars ($18) per clearance, payablein
advance by the carrier, dlong with any registration fees. If self-issued by the carrier online, the temporary vehicle
clearance feeiswaived. (3-21-22)

301. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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